Alt+0 to show this section, Tab to navigate forward, Shift+Tab key to navigate backward, Enter to access link, and Esc to reset

Press tab key to access skip links section. Press Alt+0 to access it anytime.
Sam Laidlaw

Sam Laidlaw

Independent non-executive Director, Chairman of the Group Remuneration Committee and the Nomination Committee

Sam Laidlaw was appointed to the Board in 2008. He has significant international experience, particularly in the energy sector, having had responsibility for businesses in four continents.

He is a qualified solicitor and has a Master's degree in Business Administration from INSEAD. He is Chairman of the National Centre for Universities and Business.

Mr Laidlaw was Chief Executive Officer of Centrica plc and the lead non-executive board member of the UK Department for Transport until 31 December 2014. His other previous roles include Executive Vice President of Chevron Corporation; non-executive director of Hanson PLC; Chief Executive Officer of Enterprise Oil plc; and President and Chief Operating Officer of Amerada Hess Corporation. He was also a member of the UK Prime Minister’s Business Advisory Group.