

## HSBC HOLDINGS PLC

## SCRIP DIVIDEND SCHEME AND PAYMENT OF DIVIDENDS IN UNITED STATES DOLLARS, STERLING OR HONG KONG DOLLARS

Details of the HSBC Holdings plc first interim dividend for 2008 were sent to shareholders in a letter dated 3 June 2008. The deadline for giving instructions on how to receive this dividend, as stated in that letter, is close of business on 25 June 2008.

As a consequence of tropical cyclone signal number 8 being in effect in Hong Kong in the morning of 25 June 2008, the final date for receipt by the Registrars of Forms of Election, Revocations of Standing Instructions for Scrip Dividends and Electronic Instructions from shareholders on the Hong Kong Register of Shareholders has been put back to close of business on 26 June 2008.

For and on behalf of the Board

R G Barber Group Company Secretary

25 June 2008

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement are: S K Green, M F Geoghegan, S A Catz $^{\dagger}$ , V H C Cheng, J D Coombe $^{\dagger}$ , J L Durán $^{\dagger}$ , R A Fairhead $^{\dagger}$ , D J Flint, A A Flockhart, W K L Fung $^*$ , S T Gulliver, J W J Hughes-Hallett $^{\dagger}$ , W S H Laidlaw $^{\dagger}$ , Sir Mark Moody-Stuart $^{\dagger}$ , G Morgan $^{\dagger}$ , N R N Murthy $^{\dagger}$ , S W Newton $^{\dagger}$ , S M Robertson $^{\dagger}$  and Sir Brian Williamson $^{\dagger}$ .

† Independent non-executive Director

\* Non-executive Director

Hong Kong Stock Code: 5