

HSBC HOLDINGS PLC

FIRST INTERIM DIVIDEND FOR 2008

Pursuant to Rule 13.43 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, there will be a meeting of the Directors of HSBC Holdings plc on Tuesday, 6 May 2008 to consider the declaration of the first interim dividend for 2008.

By Order of the Board R G Barber Group Company Secretary

22 April 2008

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement are: S K Green, Baroness Dunn*, Sir Brian Moffat*, M F Geoghegan, Lord Butler*, V H C Cheng, J D Coombe[†], J L Durán[†], R A Fairhead[†], D J Flint, W K L Fung*, J W J Hughes-Hallett[†], W S H Laidlaw[†], Sir Mark Moody-Stuart[†], G Morgan[†], S W Newton[†], S M Robertson[†] and Sir Brian Williamson[†].

Hong Kong Stock Code: 5

^{*} Non-executive Director

[†] Independent non-executive Director