

HSBC HOLDINGS PLC

BOARD MEETING

Pursuant to Rule 13.43 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, there will be a meeting of the Directors of HSBC Holdings plc on Monday, 5 November 2007 to consider the declaration of the third interim dividend for 2007.

By Order of the Board R G Barber Group Company Secretary

23 October 2007

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement are: S K Green, Baroness Dunn*, Sir Brian Moffat*, M F Geoghegan, Lord Butler*, J D Coombe † , R A Fairhead † , D J Flint, W K L Fung*, J W J Hughes-Hallett † , Sir Mark Moody-Stuart † , G Morgan † , S W Newton † , S M Robertson † and Sir Brian Williamson † .

* Non-executive Director

Stock Code: 5

[†] Independent non-executive Director