HSBC's sponsorship of women's Sevens is part of our ongoing commitment to rugby

HSBC has become the first title sponsor of the women’s World Rugby Sevens Series. We have also extended our support for the men’s event for another four years. The move is part of HSBC’s ongoing commitment to sponsoring rugby and supporting the development of the next generation of players. Through our HSBC Rugby Festivals and Coach Education programmes we have introduced more than 200,000 young people worldwide to the sport.

What is Sevens rugby?

Sevens rugby is played on the same sized pitch as 15-a-side rugby. There are seven players in a team and matches are played over two halves of seven minutes, with a minute’s break in between. The quick-fire action and high scoring make it a great spectator sport.

Rugby Sevens attracts hundreds of thousands of spectators and reaches a television audience of 400 million households, according to the sport’s ruling body, World Rugby. Women’s rugby is now one of the fastest-growing team sports, with more than 1.5 million women playing regularly. Sevens rugby also makes its summer Olympics debut in Rio de Janeiro in 2016.

Our programmes have introduced more than 200,000 young people worldwide to the sport

“The Olympic decision has served as a tremendous catalyst for the growth of Sevens around the world, not just in people taking part but also through the popularity of the HSBC Sevens World Series in recent years,” said Giles Morgan, Global Head of Sponsorship and Events, HSBC. “We will continue to use the profile and interest in the World Series to engage even more youngsters with the game.”

HSBC became the first title sponsor of the men’s Rugby Sevens World Series in 2010. Since then, it has become a fixture in the global sporting calendar.

Bernard Lapasset, World Rugby Chairman, said: “HSBC has been central to the Sevens success story and is totally aligned with our mission to attract and inspire new players and audiences. We are excited about this increased commitment and the certainty it provides over the next four years to grow our sport within existing and emerging rugby markets.”

HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 2015-16

  • Dubai: 3-5 December
  • Cape Town: 12-13 December
  • Wellington: 30-31 January
  • Sydney: 6-7 February
  • Las Vegas: 4-6 March
  • Vancouver: 12-13 March
  • Hong Kong: 8-10 April
  • Singapore: 16-17 April
  • Paris: 14-15 May
  • London: 21-22 May

The locations and dates for the women’s series will be announced soon.