Alt+0 to show this section, Tab to navigate forward, Shift+Tab key to navigate backward, Enter to access link, and Esc to reset

Press tab key to access skip links section. Press Alt+0 to access it anytime.
Photo of Phillip Ameen

Phillip Ameen

Independent non-executive Director, member of the Group Audit Committee

Phillip Ameen was appointed to the Board on 1 January 2015. As a former Certified Public Accountant, he has extensive experience in accounting standards setting and reporting.

Mr Ameen is a former Vice President, Comptroller and Principal Accounting Officer of General Electric Corp (GE).

He holds a Bachelor of Science, Accounting degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and started his career at Peat Marwick Mitchell & Co (now KPMG) where he became a technical audit partner in the Executive Office. He joined GE Capital in 1985 and until 2008 led a team of around 2,000. He retired from the company in 2009.

Mr Ameen has served on the International Financial Reporting Interpretations Committee of the International Accounting Standards Board, the Accounting Standards Executive Committee of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, was the longest-serving member of the Financial Accounting Standards Board Emerging Issues Task Force and Chairman of the Committee on Corporate Reporting of Financial Executives International. He has also served as a Trustee of the Financial Accounting Foundation Inc.

Mr Ameen joined the Board of HSBC North America Holdings Inc. (HNAH) in April 2012 and chairs its Audit Committee and serves on its Risk Committee. He is also on the boards of the principal subsidiaries of HNAH, chairing their audit committees and serving on their risk committees.

Other profiles

Kathleen Casey
Kathleen Casey

Independent non-executive Director, member of the Group Audit Committee and the Financial System Vulnerabilities Committee

Photo of Jonathan Symonds
Jonathan Symonds, CBE

Senior independent non-executive Director, Chairman of the Group Audit Committee and member of the Conduct & Values Committee