HSBC Holdings plc Poll results of 2015 Annual General Meeting 24 April 2015

HSBC Holdings plc (the "Company") announces that at its Annual General Meeting ("AGM") held on 24 April 2015, all resolutions as set out in the Notice of AGM were passed on a poll.

Resolutions 1 to 6, 8 to 10 and 12 were passed as ordinary resolutions and resolutions 7, 11 and 13 were passed as special resolutions.

The following table shows the votes cast on each resolution:

Resolution	Total Votes For	Total Votes Against	Votes Total	Votes Withheld
	(%)	(%)	(% of Issued Share Capital)	
1. To receive the Annual Report and Accounts 2014	9,340,160,307	113,682,546	9,453,842,853	41,294,402
	(98.80)	(1.20)	(49.04)	
2. To approve the Directors' Remuneration	6,720,428,674	2,088,530,798	8,808,959,472	677,821,869
Report	(76.29)	(23.71)	(45.70)	
3. (a) To elect Phillip Ameen as a Director	9,459,023,817	9,012,480	9,468,036,297	20,000,004
	(99.90)	(0.10)	(49.12)	32,680,294
(b) To elect Heidi Miller as a Director	9,443,905,977	23,496,531	9,467,402,508	32,543,484

		1			1
		(99.75)	(0.25)	(49.11)	
(c) To re-elect Kathleen Casey as a Director	-	9,458,891,803	8,547,866	9,467,439,669	22 428 260
	(99.91)	(0.09)	(49.11)	32,438,260	
(d) To re-elect Safra Catz as a Director	To re-elect Safra Catz as a Director	9,455,583,709	11,671,079	9,467,254,788	00 507 500
	(99.88)	(0.12)	(49.11)	32,567,538	
(e)	(e) To re-elect Laura Cha as a Director	9,303,056,308	84,065,631	9,387,121,939	111,291,419
		(99.10)	(0.90)	(48.70)	
()	To re-elect Lord Evans of Weardale	9,455,524,737	11,874,993	9,467,399,730	32,622,299
	as a Director	(99.87)	(0.13)	(49.11)	
(g) To re-elect Joacl	To re-elect Joachim Faber as a	9,452,953,492	14,364,873	9,467,318,365	32,561,965
	Director	(99.85)	(0.15)	(49.11)	
(h)	To re-elect Rona Fairhead as a	9,144,120,186	322,607,648	9,466,727,834	33,199,339
	Director	(96.59)	(3.41)	(49.11)	
• • •	To re-elect Douglas Flint as a Director	9,067,875,368	387,864,445	9,455,739,813	36,832,078
		(95.90)	(4.10)	(49.05)	
(j)	To re-elect Stuart Gulliver as a Director	9,438,909,453	29,360,384	9,468,269,837	31,483,615

r					
		(99.69)	(0.31)	(49.12)	
(k)	To re-elect Sam Laidlaw as a Director	8,317,803,050	1,149,583,204	9,467,386,254	32,573,081
		(87.86)	(12.14)	(49.11)	
(I)	To re-elect John Lipsky as a Director	8,335,050,210	1,132,173,688	9,467,223,898	32,614,861
		(88.04)	(11.96)	(49.11)	
	To re-elect Rachel Lomax as a	9,458,328,102	9,132,745	9,467,460,847	32,443,782
	Director	(99.90)	(0.10)	(49.11)	
(n)	(n) To re-elect lain Mackay as a Director	9,436,045,734	31,438,641	9,467,484,375	32,469,588
		(99.67)	(0.33)	(49.11)	
(0)	To re-elect Marc Moses as a Director	9,442,355,344	25,127,084	9,467,482,428	32,464,337
		(99.73)	(0.27)	(49.11)	
(p)	To re-elect Sir Simon Robertson as a	8,191,676,916	1,209,918,157	9,401,595,073	97,700,820
Director	Director	(87.13)	(12.87)	(48.77)	
(q)	To re-elect Jonathan Symonds as a Director	9,451,337,959	16,111,584	9,467,449,543	32,484,172
		(99.83)	(0.17)	(49.11)	
	appoint PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP auditor of the Company	9,443,723,129	25,734,330	9,469,457,459	30,213,375

	(99.73)	(0.27)	(49.12)	
5. To authorise the Group Audit Committee to determine the remuneration of the auditor	9,454,699,721	14,212,868	9,468,912,589	30,815,356
	(99.85)	(0.15)	(49.12)	
6. To authorise the Directors to allot shares	8,747,667,960	713,487,303	9,461,155,263	38,420,820
	(92.46)	(7.54)	(49.08)	
7. To disapply pre-emption rights	8,729,514,669	726,423,494	9,455,938,163	43,771,078
	(92.32)	(7.68)	(49.05)	
8. To authorise the Directors to allot any	9,154,217,028	308,482,870	9,462,699,898	34,698,581
repurchased shares	(96.74)	(3.26)	(49.09)	
9. To authorise the Company to purchase	9,348,078,869	47,795,315	9,395,874,184	102,258,468
its own ordinary shares	(99.49)	(0.51)	(48.74)	
10. To authorise the Directors to allot equity securities in relation to Contingent Convertible Securities	9,149,392,011	302,391,205	9,451,783,216	45,584,992
	(96.80)	(3.20)	(49.03)	
11. To disapply pre-emption rights in relation to the issue of Contingent Convertible Securities	8,570,088,097	879,490,094	9,449,578,191	45,737,225
	(90.69)	(9.31)	(49.02)	
12. To extend the final date on which	9,373,459,127	92,544,476	9,466,003,603	33,019,920

options may be granted under UK Sharesave	(99.02)	(0.98)	(49.11)	
13. To approve general meetings (other than annual general meetings) being called on	8,386,696,695	1,080,639,157	9,467,335,852	31,742,417
a minimum of 14 clear days' notice	(88.59)	(11.41)	(49.11)	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

As at 12.01am (London time) on Thursday 23 April 2015, the total number of ordinary shares of US\$0.50 each eligible to be voted at the AGM was 19,276,984,434. There was no share entitling the holder to attend and abstain from voting in favour of any of the resolution as set out in Rule 13.40 of the Hong Kong Listing Rules. No shareholder was required under the Hong Kong Listing Rules to abstain from voting. A 'vote withheld' is not a vote in law and has not been counted in the calculation of the proportion of the votes 'for' and 'against' a resolution.

The Board of Directors notes that resolution 2 relating to the approval of the 2014 Directors' Remuneration Report, received a vote of 76.29% in favour. As set out in the Directors' Remuneration Report, further significant regulatory changes to executive remuneration are expected from the UK's Prudential Regulatory Authority and the Financial Conduct Authority, as well as from the European Banking Authority during 2015. Once these changes are finalised, the Group Remuneration Committee will consider their effect on the current remuneration policy and will consult with shareholders to understand the reasons behind today's vote result and on any changes to be made to our remuneration policy for 2016.

Computershare Investor Services PLC acted as scrutineer of the poll on all resolutions.

Copies of the special business resolutions passed at the AGM have been submitted to the UK Listing Authority, and will shortly be available for inspection at the UK Listing Authority's National Storage Mechanism which is located at <u>http://www.hemscott.com/nsm.do</u>

From the conclusion of the AGM, the following changes became effective:

Sir Simon Robertson stepped down as Senior Independent Director but will continue as Deputy Chairman. Sir Simon will also step down as chairman of the Group Remuneration Committee, chairman of the Nomination Committee and as a member of the Financial System

Vulnerabilities Committee.

Rachel Lomax will become Senior Independent Director. She will also become a member of the Nomination Committee. Sam Laidlaw will become chairman of the Group Remuneration Committee and chairman of the Nomination Committee.

As at the date of this announcement, the following are Directors of the Company: Douglas Flint, Stuart Gulliver, Phillip Ameen[†], Kathleen Casey[†], Safra Catz[†], Laura Cha[†], Lord Evans of Weardale[†], Joachim Faber[†], Rona Fairhead[†], Sam Laidlaw[†], John Lipsky[†], Rachel Lomax[†], Iain Mackay, Heidi Miller[†], Marc Moses, Sir Simon Robertson[†] and Jonathan Symonds[†].

[†] Independent non-executive Director

For and on behalf of HSBC Holdings plc

Ben J S Mathews Group Company Secretary