HSBC Holdings plc

Annual General Meeting 22 May 2009

At the Annual General Meeting of HSBC Holdings plc held on 22 May 2009, all resolutions were passed on a poll.

The following table shows the votes cast on each resolution:

Resolution	Total Votes For (%)	Total Votes Against (%)	Votes Withheld ♣
1. To receive the Report and Accounts for 2008	7,901,287,647	40,358,760	35,340,460
	(99.49)	(0.51)	
2. To approve the Directors' Remuneration Report for 2008	7,060,582,014	681,527,638	233,742,167
	(91.20)	(8.80)	
3. (a) To re-elect S A Catz a Director	7,929,542,903	22,920,267	31,655,980
	(99.71)	(0.29)	
(b) To re-elect V H C Cheng a Director	7,941,676,475	11,270,381	31,134,247
	(99.86)	(0.14)	
(c) To re-elect M K T Cheung a Director	7,939,025,380	11,377,699	33,777,308
	(99.86)	(0.14)	
(d) To re-elect J D Coombe a Director	7,935,388,445	13,017,095	35,791,573
	(99.84)	(0.16)	
(e) To re-elect J L Durán a Director	7,940,220,049	12,282,606	31,706,996
	(99.85)	(0.15)	
(f) To re-elect R A Fairhead a Director	7,937,758,292	14,728,893	31,726,248
	(99.81)	(0.19)	
(g) To re-elect D J Flint a Director	7,912,074,791	37,587,208	34,389,735
	(99.53)	(0.47)	
(h) To re-elect A A Flockhart a Director	7,929,977,258	17,696,949	36,519,295
	(99.78)	(0.22)	
(i) To re-elect W K L Fung a Director	7,827,043,012	66,722,011	90,363,781

	(99.15)	(0.85)	
(j) To re-elect M F Geoghegan a Director	7,908,649,043	38,351,123	37,448,198
	(99.52)	(0.48)	
(k) To re-elect S K Green a Director	7,791,903,013	56,527,889	135,700,002
	(99.28)	(0.72)	
(l) To re-elect S T Gulliver a Director	7,907,643,866	35,501,686	39,631,531
	(99.55)	(0.45)	
(m) To re-elect J W J Hughes-Hallett a Director	7,935,557,101	16,848,745	31,718,789
	(99.79)	(0.21)	
(n) To re-elect W S H Laidlaw a Director	7,936,661,889	13,720,447	33,737,012
	(99.83)	(0.17)	
(o) To re-elect J R Lomax a Director	7,925,965,357	26,348,115	31,806,338
	(99.67)	(0.33)	
(p) To re-elect Sir Mark Moody-Stuart a Director	7,936,652,035	15,533,759	31,931,899
	(99.80)	(0.20)	
(q) To re-elect G Morgan a Director	7,937,695,742	12,657,251	33,729,241
	(99.84)	(0.16)	
(r) To re-elect N R N Murthy a Director	7,939,721,249	12,600,587	31,798,598
	(99.84)	(0.16)	
(s) To re-elect S M Robertson a Director	7,939,561,457	12,763,612	31,776,474
	(99.84)	(0.16)	
(t) To re-elect J L Thornton a Director	7,939,757,360	12,291,883	31,909,754
	(99.85)	(0.15)	
(u) To re-elect Sir Brian Williamson a Director	7,939,497,300	12,796,977	31,784,282
	(99.84)	(0.16)	
4. To reappoint the Auditor at remuneration to be determined by the Group Audit Committee	7,885,940,600	38,605,986	52,015,387
	(99.51)	(0.49)	

5. To authorise the Directors to allot shares	7,865,611,572	80,639,173	32,860,563
	(98.99)	(1.01)	
6. To disapply pre-emption rights (Special Resolution)	7,898,555,932	52,061,875	29,723,057
	(99.35)	(0.65)	
7. To authorise the Company to purchase its own Ordinary Shares	7,866,095,619	20,259,041	92,366,735
	(99.74)	(0.26)	
8. To alter the Articles of Association with effect from 1 October 2009 (Special Resolution)	7,950,959,375	5,013,812	24,681,152
	(99.94)	(0.06)	
9. To approve general meetings (other than annual general meetings) being called on 14 clear days' notice (Special Resolution)	7,769,003,251	178,874,096	32,468,298
	(97.75)	(2.25)	

♣ A "Vote Withheld" is not a 'vote' in law and is not counted in the calculation of the proportion of the votes 'For' and 'Against' the resolution

The total number of ordinary shares of US\$0.50 each eligible to be voted at the Annual General Meeting was 17,314,640,886. The scrutineers of the poll were Electoral Reform Services Limited and Computershare Investor Services PLC.

Copies of the special business resolutions passed at the Annual General Meeting have been submitted to the UK Listing Authority, and will shortly be available for inspection at the UK Listing Authority's Document Viewing Facility at the address shown below:

UK Listing Authority, Document Viewing Facility:

Financial Services Authority 25 The North Colonnade Canary Wharf London E14 5HS

The current Directors of HSBC Holdings plc are S A Catz[†], V H C Cheng, M K T Cheung[†], J D Coombe[†], J L Durán[†], R A Fairhead[†], D J Flint, A A Flockhart, W K L Fung^{*}, M F Geoghegan, S K Green, S T Gulliver, J W J Hughes-Hallett[†], W S H Laidlaw[†], J R Lomax[†], Sir Mark Moody-Stuart[†], G Morgan[†], N R N Murthy[†], S M Robertson[†], J L Thornton[†] and Sir Brian Williamson[†].

- † Independent Non-Executive Director
- * Non-Executive Director